top of page

Ann Arbor Civic Band

est. 1933

Home: Welcome
We Play in the Park

For six summer evenings, a variety of community musicians gather together to perform for families, townspeople, and local visitors in a series of outdoor concerts. Some bring a picnic supper, some bring their dogs, toddlers dance, couples hold hands as the music fills the air.

Enriching. Inspiring. Uplifting.

It's an experience like no other, making creative connections and bringing community together.

We're Getting the Band Back Together!


Except for the special event in Chelsea, all concerts take place on

Wednesdays at 7:30 pm at Burns Park, 1300 Baldwin Ave, Ann Arbor, MI 48104

Bring a chair, a blanket, and your entire family!


Wednesday, June 12, 2024: Around the World

Wednesday, June 19, 2024: Seasons

Saturday, June 29, 2024: Special Event in Chelsea

Wednesday, July 3, 2024: Star Spangled Spectacular

Wednesday, July 10, 2024: Young Person's Concert

Wednesday, July 17, 2024: Big Band Bash!

The concert schedule is subject to change

As you may have heard, the West Park Band Shell is deemed unsafe for occupancy. While the City of Ann Arbor determines what next steps to take with the structure, their staff has helped secure Burns Park as the new home for Ann Arbor Civic Band.

Dr. J. Nick Smith, Music Director

The Ann Arbor Civic Band is thrilled to begin another season under music director, Dr. J. Nick Smith, Associate Director of Bands and Director of Athletic Bands at Eastern Michigan University.

For the official announcement, please click the link below.

Welcome Dr. J. Nick Smith

Carl Grapentine, Announcer

Well known as The Voice of the Michigan Marching Band and Michigan Football, as well as retired classical radio host of Chicago’s WFMT-FM, we are pleased to have Carl Grapentine as the announcer for the Ann Arbor Civic Band!

Baaaand Take The Field!


Thank You!

Our Donors

Season Sponsor $4000+


Board's Circle $2000-$3999

Gail Stout

Conductor $1000-$1999

Podium $500-$999

Christine Aidala

Jerry Robbins

Principal Chair $100-$499

Gayle Fischer

Erich and Ann Marie Jensen

Herbert & Sara Meingast

Eileen Pollan

Elinore Pollan

Linda Ridley

Jane Rogers

Richard Schultz

John Schumacher

Don Semones

Jim and Susan Westhoff

Season Sponsor $4000+


Board's Circle $2000-$3999

Conductor $1000-$1999

Arthur & Louise Hanser Charitable         Trust Fund (Jordan Kim)

Podium $500-$999

Principal Chair $100-$499

Luanne Booth

Paul Decker

Roberta Duda & Larry Junck

Susan and Kurt Kamper

Laura Kaufman

Eileen Pollan

Elinore Pollan

John Schumacher

Gail Stout


Proud member of

bottom of page